Nigeria map

Nigeria flag

Flag description: three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and green.

Location: Western Africa, bordering the Gulf of Guinea, between Benin and Cameroon.

Geographic coordinates: 10 00 N, 8 00 E

Climate: varies; equatorial in south, tropical in centre, arid in north.

Independence: 1 October 1960 (from UK).

Nationality: Nigerian(s).

Capital City: Abuja.

Population: 123,337,822.

Head of State: President Olusegun OBASANJO.

Area: 923,768 sq km.

Type of Government: republic transitioning from military to civilian rule.

Currency: 1 naira (N) = 100 kobo.

Major peoples: Nigeria, which is Africa's most populous country, is composed of more than 250 ethnic groups; the following are the most populous and politically influential: Hausa and Fulani 29%, Yoruba 21%, Igbo (Ibo) 18%, Ijaw 10%, Kanuri 4%, Ibibio 3.5%, Tiv 2.5%.

Religion: Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, indigenous beliefs 10%.

Official Language: English.

Principal Languages: English , Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani.

Major Exports: petroleum and petroleum products 95%, cocoa, rubber.

History: Currently being up-dated.